An introduction to (stochastic and non-stochastic) hybrid dynamical systems
Prof. Andrew Teel, U.California, Santa Barbara
Nov. 4, 14h30, Abreu Faro Amphitheater
(with the support of ISR and DEEC)

Abstract:  In this talk, I will provide an introduction to hybrid dynamical systems.   In the initial treatment, no random effects will be considered in the models. Subsequently, stochastic influences will be introduced. Hybrid systems combine continuous change with instantaneous change. They often involve a combination of physical variables and logic variables. I will discuss several examples of hybrid systems and how they fit into a single modeling framework. I will make precise what a solution of a hybrid system is and how we typically certify that all solutions behave as desired. The typical analysis tool for such a system, both in the stochastic and non-stochastic cases, is a Lyapunov function. We will discuss what a Lyapunov function is, in the context of a hybrid system, and how it is useful.  Again, examples will be used to illustrate this concept.

Andrew-TeelBio:   Andrew R. Teel received the A.B. degree in engineering sciences from Dartmouth College in 1987, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1989 and 1992, respectively. After receiving the Ph.D., he was a postdoctoral fellow at the Ecole des Mines de Paris in Fontainebleau, France. From 1992 to 1997 he was a faculty member in the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of Minnesota. In 1997, he joined the faculty of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he is currently a Distinguished Professor. He has received NSF Research Initiation and CAREER Awards, the 1998 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award, the 1998 George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award, and the SIAM Control and Systems Theory Prize in 1998. He was the recipient of the 1999 Donald P. Eckman Award and the 2001 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, both given by the American Automatic Control Council.  He is a Fellow of the IEEE and IFAC (the International Federation of Automatic Control). In 2016 he was given the IFAC Technical Committee on Nonlinear Control Systems Achievement Award.